Juddmonte Farms


Juddmonte Farms Ireland has agreed to sponsor the Pretty Polly Stakes for the next three years from 2018.

The race with minimum total prize money of €250,000 is one of the most prestigious and valuable Group 1 races in Europe for fillies and mares and has an impressive role of honour with previous winners including world champion Minding, Dar Re Mi, Dance Design, and Alexander Goldrun, while the Roger Varian trained Nezwaah landed the race in 2017.

The 10-furlong contest, which takes place on Sunday 1st July 2018, will be the highlight of day three of the Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby Festival.

First run in 1947, The Pretty Polly Stakes is named to honour one of the great racing fillies of the 20th Century who won 22 of her 24 races including the British Triple Crown of races. Following a successful career as a broodmare, she was laid to rest at Eyrefield Lodge Stud which is located close to the Curragh.

Juddmonte have enjoyed a long association with the Curragh having sponsored the Group 2 Beresford Stakes since 1988. The colours of Juddmonte owner Prince Khalid Abdullah have been carried to victory in many of the Curragh’s top races. These have included Classic winners Commander in Chief, KINGMAN, Wemyss Bight, Bolas and Enable who won the Irish Oaks in spectacular style last year.

Douglas Erskine Crum, CEO Juddmonte Group, said: “Juddmonte is delighted to sponsor the Pretty Polly at the Curragh. The addition of this race completes our current sponsorship portfolio, with Juddmonte now sponsoring Group/Grade 1 races in the UK, Ireland, France and the USA.”

Derek McGrath, CEO The Curragh, commented: “We are very grateful to His Highness Prince Khalid and the team at Juddmonte for their generous support of the Curragh and we are delighted that they will be associated with one of our most high profile races. Our priority will be to continue to enhance our racing programme and this great news gives very positive momentum to that journey.”


Breeder: Mascalls Stud
Owner: Barnane Stud Ltd
Trainer: William Haggas
Jockey: D Tudhope